Eurogeo Presidium


Rafael de Miguel González (President), Karl Donert (Past President and VicePresident), Luc Zwartjes (Treasurer and VicePresident), Maria Luisa de Lázaro y Torres (Secretary General and VicePresident), Daniela Schemeinck, Tjiana Illic, Gerry O’Reilly, Kostis Koutsopoulos, Harry Rogge, Michaela Lindner-Fally, Aikaterina Klonari, Caroline Leininger-Frézal and Gert Rupert (Vice Presidents)

March 2022

The Annual meeting approves the 2021 report, The 2020 Annual Report is published.


March 2019

Dr. Rafael de Miguel is elected by the Presidium to be President of the European Association of Geographers (EUROGEO).

The Annual meeting approves the 2018 report, The 2017 Annual Report is published.

EUROGEO members elect / re-elect four members onto its Presidium.  Karl Donert, Michaela Lindner-Fally, Gerry O’Reilly and Daniela Schmeinck. Other Board members remain elected or co-opted.

April 2018

The Annual meeting approves the 2017 report, The 2016 Annual Report is published.

EUROGEO participates in the Council of Europe NGO Conference.


January 2017

EUROGEO presents at the Parliamentary Assembly in the Council of Europe

EUROGEO participates in the UN session in New York.

Welcome reception Malaga town hall


September 2016

The 2016 General Meeting in Malaga passes the 2015 Annual report and elects a new Board members …
Two new members joined the EUROGEO Presidium. Welcome to Yorghos Photis from Greece, new co-Editor of the European Journal of Geography. Tijana Illic from Croatia was co-opted onto the Presidium to support work on the Annual meeting and conference.


EUROGEO is an international NGO, registered in Flanders, Belgium. Its organisation is managed by its Presidium, which consists of a President, Secretary General, Treasurer and up to five Vice Presidents. Additional Vice Presidents may be co-opted as deemed necessary.

The Presidium are responsible for the finances and administration of the association and in maintaining the Web site, social media and other information sources.

EUROGEO is increasingly engaged in lobbying for Geography and in supporting geographers i inter-governmental agencies. These include the European Parliamentary Assembly and Council of Europe, as well as in UN agencies including UNEP, UN Habitat and UNESCO.

Funded projects increasingly play an important role in the work and activities of the association.

Download the EUROGEO Statutes – revised 2013